Reset – Day 56

Well Friday came and went. The cookies were a hit. There was some slight confusion that led to Ralph taking all of the cookies for himself, after making a big show of sharing one or two. I even made him his own special batch, but he was so blinded by his love for cookies he didn’t immediately realize it.

Saturday, I had yoga with a friend and a impromptu date at the Mexican place with Em.

Sunday, I had a painting thing with friends. It was fun. I like an outing with an activity. Here’s my adorable painting.

I was off on Monday, but I went to work out anyway. It was a lot of lifting. Afterward, I think I came home and did nothing. Me and Em sat around and caught up on some TV which is something we haven’t done in actual years, so it was nice. Unfortunately, sitting in one position with my leg tucked under me after a whole bunch of weightlifting caused some weird knee issue. My theory is that both my knee and hamstring tightened up in that shortened position and pulled my knee out of alignment.

Tuesday morning, I spent a lot of time stretching and rolling and it felt better, but not 100%. I wore a compression sleeve and told Ralph that we should probably take it easy on my knee to which he responded by making me do a bunch of squats. It was fine though. If it had twinged or anything during the exercise I would have stopped, but it didn’t and I think the lifting actually helped a little. After a good night’s sleep and some more foam rolling, it feels even better today.

As far as the ‘cutting’ goes, I stuck to the calorie goal he gave me for two days and ate really good, high protein, low fat, nutrient dense foods. I was still hungry at the end of the day and as is my way, rebounded by eating everything in sight for the next day or so. I reevaluated the plan, opting for a calorie deficit range, which slides in accordance to my calorie expenditure on any given day. This way, on days where I need more food, I get it and still stuck with the plan. I told Ralph on Monday what I had done and he was fine with it.

I went to a less expensive grocery to stock up on ground chicken since I’m eating a lot of it but it was kind of gross. The grind on the chicken is really big which means there is a higher likelihood of running into a perceptible chunk of fat or gristle or even bone. I’m going to make some of it today and I hope I’m wrong, but I can say I’m not looking forward to it.

I am grateful that I am in a position to be a snob about my chicken. I wasn’t always this way. I’m insufferable, but at least I’m self aware.

I had a chance to talk to Ralph about the schedule after day 60, which is rapidly approaching. We agreed we would go to 3 days a week, Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I will do my driveway workout on Tuesday and I’m not sure yet about Thursday. I may go to Planet Fitness or try this other place called F45. We shall see. The biggest test will be me remaining consistent and pushing myself. I’m hopeful. I feel good.

6 thoughts on “Reset – Day 56

Leave a comment