Stopping By

It’s been a while since I wrote anything here. I’ve been doing more writing in other places, trying to fire up the creative writing again. Some of my recent reading has indicated that writing for an audience can often stifle creativity and I do think that can be true. When I was trying to create for this blog a while back, I lost the thread of a couple decent ideas because I wrote myself into a corner and the direction the story had to go, since parts of it had already been ‘published’, didn’t resonate. The stories were abandoned.

Had I kept these stories to myself while they cooked, I could have edited, maybe rearranged some things. One day I may take them all down and start over to see where they ultimately wanted to go.

I’ve also been doing more traditional journaling, with pen and paper, and that’s the bulk of what I would put out here. That said, I would like to get back on here a little more regularly, if only to read the stuff that others write. I thought I might do the daily prompt, but today’s was meh. I could write about it, but once I had two sentences out, I had said everything I had to say on the subject.

Who knows, tomorrow might be better. Or maybe I won’t write anything here for another three months.

Today I’m cleaning fish tanks and will be planning for my week. I was on a really good routine, going to the gym five days a week. I transitioned away from the HIIT I was doing with Ralph because it was so expensive and I was just feeling broken down. So now I’m doing weightlifting, which I really like. The pace is slower, and the workouts are longer, but I feel great. That’s why it sucked when I had to leave for a week to go to Vegas for a conference. I had COVID or the flu when I returned, and suffered with that for a week, then had another weeklong conference in Orlando. So I’m off my game and ready to get back into it.

I figured that since I was rebuilding that routine from scratch, I could build a visit to WP in as well. I may write, I may just read, but I think it’s an easy enough thing to slide into the schedule. Time will tell.

Leave a comment