Reset – Day 9

The day got away from me yesterday. My day at the gym was meh. I had no energy and felt like I was failing at everything. I told Ralph I was waiting for a breakthrough moment where I felt particularly strong or energized. Ralph assured me that I am getting stronger and told me I am doing everything that is being asked of me and doing it well. It does not feel that way, but if he says so…

I can say that I was quite energized all day after the workout. Even after dinner it’s harder to just sit around and watch TV. I get antsy and feel like I should be moving around, so I’ll get up and do laundry or some other form of puttering. This is good, but my DVR is getting very full.

I was neglecting my stretching earlier this week, right when I needed it the most, so I did extra yesterday and my feet/ankles feel much better today. At this moment, I believe I will walk into the gym feeling strong and determined. We shall see if that feeling holds up.

I used to skip breakfast before the gym but now I cannot. I am ravenous in the morning. I pay for it by burping extravagantly all through the workout and feeling like I might barf, but at least my blood sugar isn’t low.

I have also noticed that I have been craving things like chicken and spinach. Granted I’ve been trying to shift my mindset and make sure that I am eating foods that will help me fuel, but I’ve done that before and still wanted pizza. Not sure what is different this time. Maybe it’s because I’m pushing myself harder? Whatever the case, I’m glad it’s not a struggle because I assure you, if I wanted pizza, I’d have it.

I found this place called CAVA which is a fast casual Mediterranean joint that makes pitas/bowls. You choose your base then go down the line and add all your toppings. It’s sooo good. Not only does it offer tons of options for me, but everything is fresh and flavorful. I leave there feeling full and satisfied and nourished. Love it. They have this stuff called Right Rice that is actually a blend of lentils and chickpeas but processed into a rice like texture. It’s super high in protein and a perfect vehicle for all the other tasty stuff. I like beans, but when I eat beans (or chickpeas) in their natural state, they are very assertive and ‘beany’. This preparation allows them to be this fabulous supporting character.

I’m so lame that I’m excited about beans.

2 thoughts on “Reset – Day 9

Leave a comment